Who & Townshend Re-Releases


The Who’s legendary 1968 Live At Fillmore East has been fully restored and mixed and is being released on 2CD and 3LP on April 20. The show is regarded by fans as the ‘holy grail’ of Who live shows equalling the legendary ‘Live At Leeds’ album.

Pete Townshend’s debut solo album Who Came First is being reissued with a host of unreleased tracks, edits, alternative versions and live performances alongside rare photos and sleeve notes written by Pete himself.

The Who were in New York to conclude a gruelling tour on April 4, 1968, the day that Dr Martin Luther King was assassinated. America was already a country divided; Anti-Vietnam demonstrations, civil rights disturbances and militant student activism. With this turmoil as a backdrop on Friday and Saturday, April 5 & 6, 1968 The Who performed two incendiary live sets at Bill Graham’s legendary Fillmore East on the lower East Side of Manhattan.

The venue had only just re-opened in March by Graham from its previous incarnation as the Village Theatre where the band had played on a couple of occasions the year before. The Who was the first British rock act to headline the Fillmore East and were booked to play four shows over the two nights. However, because of feared social unrest in the wake of Dr King’s assassination, it was decided to compact the shows into one per night.

The Who’s time in New York City in 1968 can best be described as ‘lively’. Keith Moon’s antics with cherry bomb explosives had meant that the band had to move hotels. When installed in the at the plush Waldorf Astoria he then somehow managed to a blow a door off its hinges and, the band had to move once more.
On the morning of the Fillmore rehearsal, the band were photographed for Life magazine and legend has it that the band were so tired from Moon’s antics that they nodded out under the large Union Jack draped over them at the base of the Carl Schurz Monument in Morningside Park. This iconic image was later used as the cover and poster for The Who’s classic film ‘The Kids Are Alright’.

Both nights were recorded by Who manager Kit Lambert with the intention of releasing the results as the Who’s fourth album after The Who Sell Out and before Tommy. Disaster struck when it was discovered that due to faulty equipment or human error only part of the first night was captured. Thankfully the second night was recorded and has now been fully restored and mixed by long time Who sound engineer Bob Pridden (who was responsible the band’s sound on those nights in 1968) from the original four-track tapes. For the 50th anniversary of these legendary shows, the unreleased recordings are to be issued on double CD.

Thanks to an acetate reaching the bootleg market in the early ‘70s, the Who’s reputation as rock’s most dynamic live act quickly grew. The show is regarded by fans as something of the ‘holy grail’ of Who live shows equalling the legendary ‘Live At Leeds’ album. The tapes have been meticulously remastered for optimum sound quality and will only serve to enhance The Who’s reputation as the best live act of the time.
The 2CD sets include three Eddie Cochran numbers; My Way, Summertime Blues and the never before released Who version of C’mon Everybody.

Also featured is a rare cover version of Fortune Teller written by Allen Toussaint, originally recorded by Benny Spellman but made famous by The Rolling Stones. These shows also showcased Tattoo and Relax from The Who Sell Out as well as stunning extended versions of A Quick One and My Generation which becomes a 30-minute jam with a the climax of guitar-smashing and drum demolishment!

2 x CD deluxe edition 6-panel digipak 12-page booklet including new liner notes and rare photos.

You can pre-order the album here: Live At The Fillmore


Disc One
1. Summertime Blues
2. Fortune Teller
3. Tattoo
4. Little Billy
5. I Can’t Explain
6. Happy Jack
7. Relax
8. I’m A Boy
9. A Quick One 11.15
10. My Way 
11. C’mon Everybody
12. Shakin’ All Over
13. Boris The Spider

Disc Two
1. My Generation

As well as the news about the release of The Who’s historic recording of their concert at the Fillmore East, New York City in 1968, the group has announced the release of the 45th Anniversary Extended Edition of Pete Townshend’s first solo album, Who Came First. To be more accurate (or pedantic) it’s actually the 46th anniversary this year as the album was released in 1972.

The 2-CD expanded version of Who Came First features the original album’s nine tracks plus a second disc of eight previously unreleased tracks, new edits, alternative versions and live performances. The eight-panel tall-format digipak includes new sleeve notes written by Pete himself, plus the original poster from the 1972 release and a 24-page booklet with rare images of Townshend at Eel Pie Sound, his home studio in Twickenham and performing at Meher Baba’s shrine in India.

The cover photo of Pete standing on 500 eggs was originally shot back in 1972 by Graham Hughes, (who also photographed the cover of The Who’s Quadrophenia album) and has been restored and retouched by Graham for this new limited edition. Who Came First has been remastered for this release by Jon Astley, longtime collaborator of both Pete Townshend and The Who.



  1. Pure and Easy
  2. Evolution
  3. Forever’s No Time At All
  4. Let’s See Action
  5. Time Is Passing
  6. There’s a Heartache Following Me
  7. Sheraton Gibson
  8. Content
  9. Parvardigar


  1. His Hands
  2. The Seeker (2017 edit)
  3. Day Of Silence
  4. Sleeping Dog
  5. Mary Jane (Stage A Version)
  6. I Always Say (2017 Edit)
  7. Begin The Beguine (2017 edit)
  8. Baba O’Reilly (Instrumental)
  9. The Love Man (Stage C)*
  10. Content (Stage A)*
  11. Day Of Silence (Alternate Version)*
  12. Parvardigar (Alternate take)*
  13. Nothing Is Everything*
  14. There’s A Fortune In Those Hills*
  15. Meher Baba In Italy*
  16. Drowned (live in India)*
  17. Evolution (live at Ronnie Lane Memorial)

To pre-order Who Came First 45th Anniversary Edition please click here


Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM (rrr.org.au) in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!