Wilco Releases Celebrate 20 Years


Nonesuch Records will release two new Wilco collections on December 5 in conjunction with the influential Chicago band’s 20th anniversary.

The first, Alpha Mike Foxtrot, is a 4CD/Digital box-set of rare studio and live recordings collected from the band’s audio archives. It will also be available as a 4LP box set via the Warner Music online store.

The second, What’s Your 20, is a 2CD/Digital compilation of essential tracks culled from the band’s previously released studio recordings.

Both collections are produced by Grammy-nominated producer Cheryl Pawelski, co-founder of Omnivore Recordings, whose credits include Big Star’s Keep an Eye on the Sky, The Band’s A Musical History and Townes Van Zandt’s Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions and Demos 1971–1972. These are the first compilations of Wilco music of any kind.

“Like a lot of fans, I had collected these straggling tracks over the past two decades of following Wilco’s every move,” Pawelski said.  “Alpha Mike Foxtrot includes almost every unique, essential performance that appeared on soundtracks, tribute albums and B-sides—and there are probably a few surprises for even the sharpest collector. This set presents an alternate history of the band, kind of a sideways view, and ultimately, it’s a super-fun listening experience.”

Alpha Mike Foxtrot features 64 pages of liner notes that include track-by-track recollections from Tweedy, notes by band members Nels Cline and John Stirratt, and reflections from members of Wilco’s extended professional family. The booklet also showcases dozens of archival and never-before-seen photos from a wide array of photographers chronicling all phases of the band’s career.

What’s Your 20 gathers songs from Wilco’s eight studio albums plus two songs from Mermaid Avenue, the collection of Woody Guthrie-penned tunes set to music by Wilco and Billy Bragg.

 What’s Your 20 Track Listing:

Disc One:

I Must be High

Box Full of Letters

Passenger Side

Casino Queen


Red-Eyed and Blue

I Got You (At the End of the Century)


Outtasite (Outta Mind)

Sunken Treasure

California Stars

Hesitating Beauty

A Shot in the Arm

Can’t Stand It

She’s a Jar

I’m Always in Love

How to Fight Loneliness

Via Chicago

Airline to Heaven

Disc Two:

I am Trying to Break Your Heart

I’m the Man Who Loves You

War on War

Jesus, Etc.

Ashes of American Flags

Heavy Metal Drummer



Handshake Drugs

The Late Greats

Hate it Here

Impossible Germany


Wilco (the Song)

You and I

You Never Know

I Might

Born Alone

Whole Love


Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM (rrr.org.au) in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!