Valerie June’s New Album In March


Valerie June’s highly anticipated second album, The Order of Time, is set for release on March 10th, 2017 via Concord Records / Caroline Australia. On this enthralling and illuminating leap forward, the Tennessee-bred, Brooklyn based songwriter weaves electric blues, African rhythms, cosmic atmospherics and delicate soul into an inventive and wholly original rumination on love, family, struggle and the passing of time. Produced by Matt Marinelli (Bad Brains), The Order of Time features twelve original songs all written by June.

Musically, June has refined and expanded her sound on the new album finding space from her previous work in its artful, self-assured restraint and overall cohesion. The collection’s finely sketched character studies brim with richness and detail while June’s ethereal, wide-open soundscapes provide a sterling backdrop for her remarkable Southern gospel and honey voice.  Lyrical touch points such as ‘dancing shadows,’ ‘hot suppers,’ ‘curious neighbors,’ and ‘holy water’ draw the listener in and root these songs with density and weight.

The “inevitability of change” and “time as the ruler of Earth’s rhythm,” is the album’s foundation, explains June.  “And the knowledge that with resilience and faith things can work out.”

“Long Lonely Road” is a reflective and somber lament as June’s voice reverberates over ringing guitar and unhurried drums, whereas the entrancing blues of “If And” internalizes regret in the face of time’s relentless churn. On the spiritual “Astral Plane,” June’s mystical vocal takes an otherworldly turn, whereas the sumptuous string arrangement on “With You,” is reminiscent of Nico’s most affecting work.  Norah Jones adds her distinctive vocals to three tracks and “Shake Down” sparkles with background vocal contributions from her father, Emerson Hockett and brothers, Patrick and Jason Hockett.

The Order of Time follows June’s 2013 breakout LP, Pushin’ Against a Stone that established her as one of America’s “most intriguing, fully formed new talents” according to the New York Times. She has toured with Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings and Sturgill Simpson, and performed at Newport Folk Festival, Carnegie Hall, and much more.

Valerie June has shared the new video for “Shakedown” via VEVO. Directed by Steven Lippman (Bowie, Laurie Anderson), the video shows June and her band in tight formation flooded in blue and green lighting, swept up by the song’s relentless, infectious rhythm.


The video is a tribute June’s father Emerson Hockett, who contributed vocals to “Shakedown” and passed away late last year. The track also features back-up vocals from June’s brothers as well as Norah Jones.

The Order of Time has already received glowing notice from NPR Music, who called lead track, “Astral Plane” “wondrous,” and Rolling Stone, who described the song as, “a gorgeous slow-jam lullaby.”  Additionally, The New York Times labeled June’s voice “a marvel.”

Valerie June is on tour beginning in February.

The Order of Time Track List:
Long Lonely Road
Love You Once Made
Shake Down
If And
Man Done Wrong
The Front Door
Astral Plane
Just In Time
With You
Slip Slide On By
Two Hearts
Got Soul

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!