Twin Peaks Soundtrack Re-Releases


To celebrate Showtime’s highly anticipated revival of David Lynch’s groundbreaking television series Twin Peaks, Rhino today re-release the soundtracks to the original series, as well as the subsequent film, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me.

Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me has today been reissued individually on 180-gram vinyl. The music arrives shortly before the new Twin Peaks series premieres on Stan from tonight, Monday May 22.

Lynch was already an acclaimed film director in 1990 when he and Mark Frost created the original television series about the murder of homecoming queen Laura Palmer. Today, the surreal murder mystery, which spanned two seasons, is credited with expanding the boundaries of television.

Similar to Lynch’s films, music played a prominent role in Twin Peaks and helped establish the haunting, dreamlike nature of the series. To create the 1990 soundtrack, Lynch enlisted composer Angelo Badalamenti, with whom he’d worked on the film Blue Velvet (1986).

The film Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me was released in 1992 as a companion to the television series. Lynch and Badalamenti reprised their roles as producers on Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me. Badalamenti once again composed all of the music while Lynch penned lyrics for several tracks, including Sycamore Trees sung by jazz vocalist Jimmy Scott and Questions In A World Of Blue sung by Cruise. Lynch also wrote A Real Indication and The Black Dog Runs At Night, two tracks that were performed by Thought Gang, a musical project he started with Badalamenti, who provided the music and vocals on both songs.


  1. Theme From Twin Peaks – Fire Walk With Me
  2. The Pine Float
  3. Sycamore Trees – vocals by Jimmy Scott
  4. Don’t Do Anything (I Wouldn’t Do)
  5. A Real Indication – by Thought Gang, vocals by Badalamenti
  6. Questions In A World of Blue – vocals by Julee Cruise
  7. The Pink Room
  8. The Black Dog Runs At Night – by Thought Gang, vocals by Badalamenti
  9. Best Friends
  10. Moving Through Time
  11. Montage from Twin Peaks – Girl Talk/Birds in Hell/Laura Palmer’s Theme/Falling
  12. The Voice of Love
Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!