Tom Stoppard's Darkside


Darkside, a play written by Tom Stoppard for BBC Radio 2, incorporating music from Pink Floyd’s  The Dark Side of the Moon, will be released as a Limited Edition deluxe CD package on November 29, 2013.

The play was an original commission by Radio 2 to mark the 40th anniversary of Pink Floyd’s album, and was broadcast in the UK on August 26th 2013.

David Gilmour said, “I found the script of Tom’s play fascinating; I can’t think of a better way to celebrate The Dark Side of The Moon’s 40 year anniversary.”

“I love it. If anyone is going to mess with the crown jewel of albums, Tom is a very good choice,” added Nick Mason.

Darkside is an abstract drama which follows Emily, a philosophy student, through a series of thought experiments, which are vividly brought to life. The play also ranges over a series of grand themes, which are said to be both thought provoking and laced with Stoppard’s characteristic wit and humour. The cast includes Bill Nighy as Dr Antrobus/the Witch Finder, Rufus Sewell is Mr Baggott/Ethics Man, Adrian Scarborough is Fat Man and Emily is Amaka Okafor.

Produced in collaboration with Sir Tom Stoppard’s publishers Faber and Faber, the luxury package resembles a hard-backed book, including a CD carrying the 54-minute play, which includes the majority of The Dark Side of the Moon album, plus a 56-page bound insert of the play’s script. The cover features artwork by Hipgnosis designer Aubrey ‘Po’ Powell in collaboration with StormStudios, based on the specially-created Aardman Animations piece used to publicise the broadcast.

The full play script includes all the dialogue and stage directions, plus Roger Waters’ original lyrics from the album. The play will also be available as a digital download.

“To get a combination of Tom Stoppard and Pink Floyd…is a massive deal, a marriage made in radio heaven,” said Bill Nighy.

The Dark Side Of The Moon remained in the charts for 741 weeks from 1973 to 1988. With an estimated 50 million copies sold, it is Pink Floyd’s most commercially successful album and is frequently ranked as one of the greatest albums of all time.

Darkside Tracklisting:

1. Speak To Me / Breathe (In The Air) (Darkside)

2. On The Run (Darkside)

3. Time (Darkside)

4. The Great Gig In The Sky (Darkside)

5. Money (Darkside)

6. Us And Them (Darkside)

7. Any Colour You Like (Darkside)

8. Brain Damage (Darkside)

9.  Eclipse   (Darkside)

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!