The Sound of Indigenous Australia


Festival Records and Warner Music, in association with the National Indigenous Music Awards, have announced the 2CD and digital release of NIMA Presents The Sound of Indigenous Australia – Now & Before. The album will be released July 7 to coincide with the announcement of finalists for the 2017 National Indigenous Music Awards and is available to pre-order now.

The Sound of Indigenous Australia looks for the first time at both the thriving contemporary music scene in Indigenous Australia and the roots of that scene in the classic songs and artists of the recent past.

Divided into ‘Now’ and ‘Before’ discs, the collection opens with A.B. Original’s 2017 Hottest 100 entry ‘January 26’ and concludes with Kev Carmody’s classic ‘From Little Things Big Things Grow’.

The ‘Now’ disc includes some of Australia’s biggest artists including Jessica Mauboy, Busby Marou, Dan Sultan and Emma Donovan & The Putbacks alongside a range of tomorrow’s stars, previous NIMA Unearthed winners and critics favourites including Thelma Plum, Emily Wurramara and Robbie Miller. The eclectic mix also includes Young rappers Birdz and Ziggy mixing it with up & coming roots artists like Yirrmal, Gawurra and high school singer-songwriter Tia Gostelow as well as electronic artists like Kuren and Electric Fields.

The ‘Before’ disc features Australian icons from across the last few decades. Yothu Yindi’s ‘Treaty’ and Archie Roach’s ‘Took the Children Away’ kick it off, followed by No Fixed Address’ ‘We Have Survived’, Warumpi Band’s ‘’Blackfella/Whitefella’, Christine Anu’s ‘My Island Home’, Coloured Stones’ Black Boy’ and Gurrumul’s ‘Wiyathul’. The collection celebrates other important artists such as Ruby Hunter, Tiddas, Pigram Brothers, Troy Cassar-Daly, Jimmy Little, Blekbala Mujik and Vic Simms and less well-known contributors to Australia’s Indigenous music scene including Blackfire (featuring Kutcha Edwards and Grant Hansen of Marngrook Footy Show fame) and LJ Hill, whose ‘Pretty Bird Tree’ was recently recorded by Paul Kelly.

The 42-track collection comes with full liner notes in a 24-page booklet and is released in association with the National Indigenous Music Awards and includes many of the artists who have been acknowledged across the event’s fourteen-year history.

The Sound of Indigenous Australia is out on Festival Records through Warner Music Australia on July 7.

The 14th Annual National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMA) take place at the iconic Darwin Amphitheatre on August 12, 2017.


1. A.B. Original – January 26
2. Yirrmal – Mayangan
3. Emily Wurramara – Black Smoke
4. Gawurra – Ratja Yaliyali (Vine of Love)
5. Thelma Plum – How Much Does Your Love Cost
6. Kuren – Home (ft. Ben Alessi)
7. Birdz – Black Lives Matter
8. Ziggy – Blackface
9. Apakatjah – Waru
10. Casii Williams – How Can I Live
11. Eleanor Dixon – My Spirit is Free
12. Dan Sultan – Kimberly Calling
13. Emma Donovan & the Putbacks – Black Woman
14. Jessica Mauboy – Risk It
15. Benny Walker – Save
16. Luke Daniel Peacock – Dreambox
17. Busby Marou – Best Part of Me
18. Leah Flanagan – Chills
19. Robbie Miller – The Pain
20. Tia Gostelow – Vague Utopia
21. Electric Fields – Shade Away

1. Yothu Yindi – Treaty
2. Archie Roach – Took The Children Away
3. Coloured Stone – Black Boy
4. No Fixed Address – We Have Survived
5. Warumpi Band – Blackfella/Whitefella
6. Christine Anu – My Island Home
7. The Pigram Brothers – Going Back Home
8. Gurrumul – Wiyathul
9. Frank Yamma – Nguta Waljilpa
10. Blekbala Mujik – Walking Together
11. Joe Geia – Yil Lull
12. L J Hill – Pretty Bird Tree
13. Ruby Hunter – Ngarrindjeri Woman
14. Tiddas – Innanay
15. Troy Cassar-Daley – Freedom Ride
16. Roger Knox – Streets of Tamworth
17. Blackfire – Island Paradise
18. Us Mob – Wrong Side of the Road
19. Vic Simms – Stranger in my Country
20. Jimmy Little – Yorta Yorta Man
21. Kev Carmody – From Little Things Big Things Grow

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!