Rave Reviews For Dylan Club Show


 Bob Dylan‘s club show at The Tivoli in Brisbane is getting rave reviews with fans lining up outside the club from 4.00am to get a spot on the floor.

The Sydney Morning Herald headlined its review ‘Bob Dylan leaves Tivoli in awe,’ noting that Dylan took to the Tivoli stage for what was billed as a “once in a lifetime concert” but adding that ‘The hyperbole reflected reality.’

The set list introduced a number of songs that Dylan had not previously played on this tour including ‘Ballad Of A Thin Man,’ ‘Girl Of The North Country,’ ‘Trying To Get To Heaven’ and ‘Thunder On The Mountain.’

Cameron Atfield of The Brisbane Times wrote that: “Dylan sounds every one of his 73 years, yet at times he still sounds as fresh as the freewheeler of 1962, or the young rebel who plugged in that electric guitar at the Newport Folk Festival. No wonder fellow music royalty Tim Finn and Robert Forster could only look on from the crowd in awe, no doubt on their own personal journeys through the decades.

Tony Moore of The Brisbane Times noted: “A Dylan show nowadays is no longer a greatest hits package. It’s a treat of that swinging ragtime and stomping blues that existed side by side with the folk music that Bob Dylan first revered in the very early years of the 1960s. Bob Dylan now mines that territory – not the folk music – for his inspiration.”

Danielle Cronin of The Brisbane Times wrote: “Dylan was magnificent, backed by a band that switched between musical genres with effortless skill. The highlight – a quiet rendition of Girl from the North Country full of angst and longing, leaving a lump in the throat. Hallejah.[sic]Bless Robert Zimmerman.”


The Tivoli – August 27, 2014

1. Things Have Changed

2. She Belongs To Me

3. Beyond Here Lies Nothin’

4. Workingman’s Blues #2

5. Waiting For You

6. Duquesne Whistle

7. Pay In Blood

8. Tangled Up In Blue

9. Love Sick


10. High Water (For Charley Patton)

11. Girl Of The North Country

12. Cry A While

13. Tweedle Dee & Tweedle Dum

14. Lonesome Day Blues

15. Tryin’ To Get To Heaven

16. Thunder On The Mountain

17. Ballad Of A Thin Man


18. All Along The Watchtower

19. Blowin’ In The Wind

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM (rrr.org.au) in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!