New Dawes Album With David Rawlings


LA rock quartet Dawes’ new album, All Your Favorite Bands, will be released today (May 29, 2015) on their own HUB Records. Produced by David Rawlings at Woodland Sound Studios in Nashville, TN, this is the band’s fourth album and second on their own label. The album includes nine new original recordings written by Taylor Goldsmith, except for the title track, which was co-written with Jonny Fritz. 

The band line-up for the latest album includes Taylor Goldsmith (lead vocals, guitar), Griffin Goldsmith (drums, background vocals), Wylie Gelber (bass) and Tay Strathairn (keyboards, background vocals). All Your Favorite Bands also features the vocal support of Gillian Welch and The McCrary Sisters, as well as David Rawlings on guitar and vocals, Richard Bennett on acoustic guitar, and Paul Franklin on pedal steel. 

NPR’s First Watch premiered the new video for the album’s first single, ‘Things Happen’, and it can be seen here.


All Your Favorite Bands is Dawes’ first record since 2013’s acclaimed Stories Don’t End. Taylor explains why the album is called All Your Favorite Bands:

“The main line of the title track is ‘And may all your favorite bands stay together.’  I know that my favorite bands are a really deep part of who I am.  They help define me, they help represent me, they trigger certain emotional memories, and they stand for the ideals and lifestyle that I will always hope to achieve.  And I don’t mean rock and roll fantasies, but rather concepts like freedom and enlightenment. I would love for someone wishing me well to put it in the terms of ‘may all your favorite bands stay together.’  That would be a real friend.  That person would know what truly matters. To me, the statement of ‘All Your Favorite Bands’ immediately gets down to a highly personal and singular part of anybody in a way that few other concepts can.  So that’s why we named our record after that song.”

All Your Favorite Bands – Complete Tracklisting

1. Things Happen

2. Somewhere Along the Way

3. Don’t Send Me Away

4. All Your Favorite Bands

5. I Can’t Think About It Now

6. To Be Completely Honest

7. Waiting For Your Call

8. Right on Time

9. Now That It’s Too Late, Maria

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!