Melbourne Music Prize Nominees


The finalists in one of Australia‟s most valuable music prizes, the Melbourne Prize for Music 2016 and Awards, have been announced this week.

The finalists are: David Bridie, Joe Camilleri, Kutcha Edwards, Liza Lim, Adalita Srsen

This year‟s finalists represent the musical talent in Victoria across a range of genres. The Melbourne Prize for Music 2016 and Awards provide recognition and opportunities for Victorian musicians.

The $60,000 Melbourne Prize for Music 2016 will be awarded to a Victorian musician, or group of musicians, who have made an outstanding contribution to Australian music and has enriched cultural and public life. This award is supported by principal partner, The Vera Moore Foundation.

The $30,000 (plus $2,500 Qantas travel voucher) Outstanding Musicians Award 2016 will be presented to a Victorian musician, or group of musicians for recent work representing an outstanding example of creativity and skill. This award is supported by Dr. Ron Benson.

The finalists are: Lior Attar Briggs Sophia Brous Biddy Connor James Hullick Gareth Liddiard Kate Miller-Heidke, Eric Moore/King Gizzard, Monica Curro/PLEXUS, Scott Tinkler

The new $25,000 Beleura Award for Composition 2016 is for a composition of outstanding musicianship, skill and creativity. All genres of composition are eligible. This award is supported by The Tallis Foundation in memory of John Tallis (1911-1996).

The finalists are: Chris Dench, Mary Finsterer, Andrea Keller, Kate Neal and Anthony Pateras.

The $16,000 Development Award 2016 will be presented to an emerging musician or group of musicians, aged 30 years and under, who demonstrate outstanding musical talent with the potential to develop their professional career.

The Award consists of a $6,000 music instrument and equipment grant supported by Yamaha Music Australia and $10,000 cash supported by The William Buckland Foundation.

The finalists are: Sophia Exiner, Rory Burnside/Rudely Interrupted, Gabriella Cohen, Matthias Schack-Arnott and Tilman Robinson.

A finalist, across all the awards categories, will be selected for the new $20,000 Distinguished Musicians Fellowship 2016, which will be announced on November 9. They will receive a commercial engagement, generously provided by the Victorian College of the Arts and Melbourne Conservatorium of Music.

This year‟s judging panel consists of some of Australia‟s most respected music identities including, Patrick Donovan, CEO Music Victoria and Chair Australian Music Industry Network, Professor Paul Grabowsky AO, Pianist, Composer, Conductor, Director Monash Academy of Performing Arts, Genevieve Lacey, Recorder Virtuoso, Artistic Director and Collaborator Marshall McGuire, Head of Artistic Planning Melbourne Recital Centre, Helen Marcou, Co-founder Bakehouse Studios and SLAM and Ronald Vermeulen, Director of Artistic Planning, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

“We were overwhelmed by the increased quantity and importantly the quality of entries across all categories in this year’s Melbourne Prize for Music 2016 & Awards,” said the Judges statement. “The representation of musicians across all genres and career stages was outstanding and celebrates the abundant talent we have in Victorian music and musicians. The list of finalists is evidence of the extraordinary talent we have in our State. The musicianship, creativity and artistic courage demonstrated in their work points not only a great outcome for the 2016 Melbourne Prize but bright and exciting future for Victorian music both locally and internationally. We would like to thank all applicants this year for the time and effort they have dedicated to entering.”

Minister for Creative Industries, Martin Foley MP said the Melbourne Prize for Music recognises the pre-eminent place that Melbourne and Victoria hold as the nation‟s music heartland. “In celebrating the creativity and contribution of our musicians across a range of genres, this Prize plays a significant role in providing opportunities for local music makers and inspiring the next generation.”

Lord Mayor of Melbourne, Robert Doyle, said Melbourne was one of the world‟s great music cities. “Melbourne is a city that loves its music and the Melbourne Prize celebrates the best of musical talent in our city,” said the Lord Mayor.

“I would like to congratulate the finalists and thank them for their contribution to our city‟s thriving music scene.”

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!