Jim Keays' Age Against The Machine


The highly anticipated follow up to the acclaimed Dirty, Dirty from 2012 and Jim Keays’ final album – Age Against The Machine – has been released via Sandman Records. (Keays died in June last year after a long fight with myeloma).

Containing 10 more obscure garage-rock classics from the voice of The Master’s Apprentices, the album alsao features the same team behind Dirty, Dirty – You Am I guitarist Davey Lane, producer Ted Lethborg on bass and Brett Wolfenden on drums. The album was recorded live on vintage analogue equipment, just like the early Master’s Apprentices’ classics.

Interestingly, Keays did a version of ‘Hot Smoke and Sassafras’ by Texan psych-rock band Bubble Puppy, who themselves have recently had a number of reunions and were back in an Austin recording studio in April. The band will be doing some gigs around Austin in July and August.

Track Listing:

1. Shake Some Action
2. I Got A Line On You
3. Come On 
4. Dig A Hole (with Dallas Frasca) 

5. Hot Smoke And Sassafras 

6. It’s Alright 

7. (I’d Go The) Whole Wide World 

8. Cadillac

9. If You Got To Make A Fool Of Somebody 

10. Heaven Tonight


Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM (rrr.org.au) in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!