Jim Jarmusch Soundtrack In April


ATP Recordings have announced the release of the soundtrack to Jim Jarmusch’s upcoming ‘crypto-vampire love story’ film Only Lovers Left Alive.

Jarmusch only to be a directs the film but he acts as its musical composer with his band SQÜRL.

The album was done in collaboration with Jozef Van Wissem, and was recently honoured with the 2013 Cannes Soundtrack Award.

Guest artists assembled for the recordings include Yasmine Hamdan who also appears in the film, contributing her original track ‘Hal’, as well as Madeline Follin (of Cults) and Zola Jesus who provide vocal on ‘Funnel Of Love’ and ‘In Templum Dei’ respectively.

The film is set against the desolation of Detroit and Tangier as an underground musician, deeply depressed by the direction of human activities, reunites with his lover. Their love story has already endured several centuries at least, but their debauched idyll is soon disrupted by her wild and uncontrollable younger sister.  The cast includes Oscar winner Tild Swinton  (The Grand Budapest Hotel, We Need To Talk About Kevin), Tom Hiddleston  (The Avengers, Thor), Mia Wasikowska (Stoker, Lawless) and John Hurt (Harry Potter, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.


Available April 8 in Australia/USA on double 180gsm 12” blood red Vinyl (with download code), Compact Disc and Digital Download.

The Vinyl version of the album features a gatefold sleeve printed on heavy 300gsm card, spot gloss varnish on the main text elements and limited edition printed inner sleeves (editions of 500) featuring official photographs from the film set. The CD version includes a 12 page booklet, which is also included in digital format via the iTunes release.

To listen now to ‘The Taste Of Blood’ by Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL  click here.

1. Streets Of Detroit – SQÜRL
2. Funnel Of Love – SQÜRL (featuring Madeline Follin)
3. Sola Gratia (Part 1) – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
4. The Taste Of Blood – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
5. Diamond Star – SQÜRL
6. Please Feel Free To Piss In The Garden – SQÜRL
7. Spooky Action At A Distance – SQÜRL
8. Streets Of Tangier – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
9. In Templum Dei – Jozef Van Wissem (featuring Zola Jesus)
10. Sola Gratia (Part 2) – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
11. Our Hearts Condemn Us – Jozef Van Wissem
12. Hal – Yasmine Hamdan
13. Only Lovers Left Alive – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL
14. This Is Your Wilderness – Jozef Van Wissem & SQÜRL


Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM (rrr.org.au) in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!