Russell Morris Wins At ARIA Awards


Veteran Australian rocker Russell Morris won the Best Blues & Roots Album ARIA Award last night for Red Dirt Heart, the third in a trilogy of albums that started with Sharkmouth in 2012 (that album has recently been released in America).

The 30th ARIA Awards also honoured Crowded House (recently reformed for some shows in Sydney) who were inducted into the Hall of Fame. Neil Finn dedicated the award to their late drummer Paul Hester.

The group were inducted into the ARIA Hall Of Fame by Flight Of The Conchords members (and fellow Kiwis) Bret McKenzie and Jemaine Clement. Bernard Fanning and Missy Higgins provided musical tributes to the group with renditions of ‘Fall At Your Feet’ and ‘Better Be Home Soon.’ Crowded House then performed ‘Distant Sun’, from the album Together Alone.

Flume was the biggest winner with five ARIAs — Album Of The Year, Best Independent Release, Best Male Artist, Best Dance Release and Best Pop Release, for ‘Never Be Like You’, ft. Kai — in addition to his three Artisan Awards, taking his total for the year to eight.

Sia took home Best Female Artist of the Year but asked marriage equality campaigner Angie Greene to accept the award on her behalf. Greene noted that the singer wanted the award to go to “every single non-hetero and gender-diverse person who can currently not marry the person that they love in this country.”


Album Of The Year

Flume – Skin

Best Male Artist

Flume – Skin

Best Female Artist

Sia – This Is Acting

Best Dance Release

Flume – Skin

Best Group

Violent Soho – WACO

Breakthrough Artist

Montaigne – Glorious Heights

Best Pop Release

Flume – Never Be Like You (feat. Kai)

Best Urban Album

Drapht – Seven Mirrors

Best Independent Release

Flume – Skin

Best Rock Album

Violent Soho – WACO

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Bernard Fanning – Civil Dusk

Best Adult Alternative Album

Sarah Blasko – Eternal Return

Best Country Album

Sara Storer – Silos

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Nonagon Infinity

Best Blues & Roots Album

Russell Morris – Red Dirt Red Heart

Best Children’s Album

The Wiggles – Wiggle Town!

Best Video

Troye Sivan – YOUTH Acoustic (Sydney Session)

Best Australian Live Act

Hilltop Hoods – The Restrung Tour

Song of the Year

Troye Sivan – Youth

Best International Artist

One Direction – Made in the A.M & Four 

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!