Buried Country 1.5 Due October


Festival Records and Warner Music Australia has announced the October 30 release of a new and significantly different edition of the ground-breaking 2000 compilation Buried Country: The Story of Aboriginal Country Music, which was originally released in conjunction with a book and documentary of the same name.

All formats were the work of author Clinton Walker, who has created this new edition  – Buried Country 1.5 – to accompany the new edition of his book. Hailed on publication as a work that “traces new pathways into the songlines of a hidden and resonant Australian musical history” (The Age), Buried Country has had a substantial cultural impact over the years, and will continue to do so with this new release and new developments in the new year.

Buried Country 1.5 features the key artists from the original 2CD set on the first disc together with a CD’s worth of more recent artists. It includes Archie Roach, Warumpi Band, Dan Sultan, Troy Cassar-Daley, Kev Carmody, Thelma Plum,  Vic Simms, Jimmy Little, Ruby Hunter, the Painted Ladies (with guest vocalists Paul Kelly and Ed Kuepper and others), as well as new liner notes by Clinton Walker and some new images.



1. Vic Simms – Get Back Into the Shadows

2. Jimmy Little – Shadow of the Boomerang

3. Black Allan Barker – Run Dingo Run

4. Lionel Rose – Jackson’s Track

5. Vic Simms – Hey Sheriff

6. Warumpi Band – Jailanguru Pakarnu

7. Mop and the Drop Outs – Brisbane Blacks

8. Kankawa Nagarra (Olive Knight) – Nyantu Yangka Parla Jarranyangany Ngarpuwu

9. Ali Mills – Watjim Bat Matilda

10. Maisie Kelly – My Home in the Valley

11. Kev Carmody – You Beautiful

12. Country Outcasts – Blue Gums Calling Me Back Home

13. Gus Williams – Old Aboriginal Stockman

14. Isaac Yamma – Pitjantjatjara Boy

15. Auriel Andrew – Ghost Gums

16. Roger Knox and Euraba – Koorie Rose

17. Tracey Lee Gray – Streets of Tamworth

18. Mac Silva – Malabar Mansion

19. Ruby Hunter – Women’s Business

20. Tiddas – In My Kitchen

21. Troy Cassar-Daley – Proud Young Man

22. Rug Cutters – Land Where the Crow Flies Backwards

23. Roger Knox and the Pine Valley Cosmonauts – Wayward Dreams

24. Lionel Rose – I Thank You


1. Pigram Brothers – Barefoot Kid

2. Naomi Pigram – Hurts to be Me

3. John Williamson with Warren H Williams – Raining on the Rock

4. Peter Brandy – Long Time Ago

5. Kutcha Edwards – Get Back Up Again

6. Dan Sultan – Old Fitzroy

7. L J Hill The – Pretty Bird Tree

8. Frank Yama – She Cried

9. Tom E Lewis – Two Dollar

10. John Bennett – Wangkaja

11. Sue Ray – Red Roses

12. Benny Walker – Time

13. Thelma Plum – Around Here

14. Leah Flanagan – September Song

15. Archie Roach – Big Black Train

16. Painted Ladies – Stranger in my Country

17. Glenn Skuthorpe – Great Beyonder

18. Jimmy Little – Yorta Yorta Man

19. Theona Councillor – Cover Me

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM (rrr.org.au) in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!