Blues Music Awards 2016 – Buddy Guy Wins


MEMPHIS, Tenn. — The Cook Convention Center in downtown Memphis, Tennessee was packed on May 5 with musicians, music business professionals and fans who gathered to honor the past year’s best in blues. For the 37th year, the Blues Foundation handed out its Blues Music Awards.

Australian blues guitarist/singer Fiona Boyes was nominated for the Koko Taylor Award (won by Ruthie Foster) and played several songs for the audience later in the evening.

Seventy-nine-year-old Buddy Guy, a veteran of 35 BMAs, won both Album of the Year and Contemporary Blues Album of the Year for Born to Play Guitar, while 30-something bluesmen Cedric Burnside and Victor Wainwright were also double winners.

The Cedric Burnside Project’s Descendants of Hill County was chosen Traditional Blues Album of the Year and, for the fifth time, Burnside was named top drummer.

Victor Wainwright & the Wild Roots was selected the Band of the Year, with Wainwright receiving the B.B. King Entertainer of the Year title.

One of the evening’s feel-good stories was Walter Trout. After defeating Hepatitis C and liver failure, the veteran bluesman recorded the CD Battle Scars, which nabbed the Rock Blues Album prize, while his tune “Gonna Live Again” was named the Song of the Year.

The late Otis Clay posthumously received his first two Blues Music Awards, for best Soul Blues Male Artist and Soul Blues Album for This Time for Real, his collaboration with Billy Price.

The late Allen Toussaint also was honored with his first Blues Music Award, the Pinetop Perkins Piano Player of the Year.

Other notable winners included Duke Robillard for Acoustic Album of the Year (The Acoustic Blues & Roots of Duke Robillard) and Mr. Sipp for Best New Artist Album (The Mississippi Blues Child). Ruthie Foster collected her fourth Koko Taylor Award for Best Traditional Blues Female Artist, while the Bear Family Records’ 5-CD Slim Harpo box set Buzzin’ the Blues picked up the Historical Album of the Year.

Here is the complete list of Blues Music Award winners (final)

1. Acoustic Album: The Acoustic Blues & Roots of Duke Robillard – Duke Robillard        

2. Acoustic Artist: Doug MacLeod                 

3. Album: Born to Play Guitar – Buddy Guy              

4. B.B. King Entertainer: Victor Wainwright           

5. Band: Victor Wainwright & the Wild Roots                 

6. Best New Artist Album: The Mississippi Blues Child – Mr. Sipp    

7. Contemporary Blues Album: Born to Play Guitar – Buddy Guy            

8. Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Shemekia Copeland        

9. Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Joe Louis Walker

10. Historical: Buzzin’ the Blues by Slim Harpo (Bear Family Records)

11. Instrumentalist-Bass: Lisa Mann            

12. Instrumentalist-Drums: Cedric Burnside          

13. Instrumentalist-Guitar: Sonny Landreth

14. Instrumentalist-Harmonica: Kim Wilson          

15. Instrumentalist-Horn: Terry Hanck                 

16. Koko Taylor Award: Ruthie Foster          

17. Pinetop Perkins Piano Player:  Allen Toussaint

18. Rock Blues Album: Battle ScarsWalter Trout          

19. Song: “Gonna Live Again” written and performed by Walter Trout  

20. Soul Blues Album: This Time for Real – Billy Price & Otis Clay

21. Soul Blues Female Artist: Bettye LaVette

22. Soul Blues Male Artist: Otis Clay                                       

23. Traditional Blues Album: Descendants of Hill CountryCedric Burnside Project

24. Traditional Blues Male Artist: John Primer

The night before the Blues Music Awards, the Blues Hall of Fame inducted musicians Elvin Bishop, Eddy Clearwater, Jimmy Johnson, John Mayall, and the Memphis Jug Band along with Malaco Records partners Tommy Couch Sr. and Wolf Stephenson. The ceremony, which took place at the Halloran Centre for Performing Arts and Education, also honored Jeff Todd Titon’s landmark book Early Downhome Blues: A Musical and Cultural Analysis as well as the songs “Crazy Blues” by Mamie Smith, Jimmy Rogers’ “That’s All Right,” Billy Boy Arnold’s “I Wish You Would,” Johnny Moore’s Three Blazers’ “Merry Christmas Baby” and “Blues Before Sunrise” by Leroy Carr and Scrapper Blackwell and the classic album Blues in the Mississippi Night. This event also marked the first anniversary of the Blues Foundation’s new home, the Blues Hall of Fame Museum located at 421 S. Main Street in Memphis, Tenn.  

The 37th Blues Music Awards were sponsored by Arts Memphis, AutoZone, BMI, First Tennessee Foundation, Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise, Memphis Convention and Visitors Bureau, Sierra Nevada Brewing Company and Sony Music/Legacy Recordings. The Awards ceremony was taped for later broadcast in edited versions on SiriusXM’s B.B. King’s Bluesville channel and local public television stations.  

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!