Aussies In Americana First Round


The Americana Music Association has announced the first 70 of more than 180 artists slated to perform at the 17th Annual Americana Music Festival & Conference, which runs from September 20-25 in Nashville, TN. Marlon Williams and Ruby Boots are the two Australian acts that have been announced so far. The six-day festival will fill the city with legends, newcomers, award winners, and buzz bands, showcasing the breadth of Americana’s influence. With over 180 artists and bands scheduled, the event promises to be, as described by MOJO Magazine, the “roots alternative to the GRAMMYs and South by Southwest.” A list of the first round of performers can be found below.

Tying in to this announcement, the Americana Music Association has put evening showcase wristbands on sale to the public at the price of $60. Available online at and in Nashville at Grimey’s New & Preloved Music and The Groove, showcase wristbands allow admission into all showcase venues and some sanctioned parties and events. Festival & Conference registrations (currently $225 for members/$325 for non-members) offer priority admission into all showcase venues, sanctioned parties and events, daytime educational panels, and can be purchased here. At this time, only conference registrants may purchase Honors & Awards show tickets.

List of Artists Confirmed to Play AmericanaFest:

Amy Helm

Aubrie Sellers


Bart Crow

BJ Barham of American Aquarium

Brent Cobb

Brian Whelan

Brian Wright

Buddy Miller

Cedric Burnside Project

Charlie Parr

Ciaran Lavery

David Ramirez

Dead Horses

Derik Hultquist

Dietrich Strause

Dylan LeBlanc

Front Country

Grant-Lee Phillips

Green River Ordinance

Hollis Brown


Indigo Girls

Infamous Stringdusters

Jay Nash

Jesse Malin

Joe Purdy

John Paul White

Larkin Poe

Larry Campbell & Teresa Williams


Lee Ann Womack

Lori McKenna

Luke Bell

Lydia Loveless

Marlon Williams

Mindy Smith

Moonsville Collective

Parker Millsap

Penny & Sparrow

Peter Bruntnell

Phil Cody

Quiet Life

Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band

Ruby Amanfu

Ruby Boots

Ruston Kelly

Ryan Beaver

Sammy Brue

Sara Watkins

Sarah Potenza

Shawn Mullins

Sons of Bill

Sunny Sweeney


Teddy Thompson & Kelly Jones

The Americans

The Ballroom Thieves

The Black Lillies

The Bottle Rockets

The Cactus Blossoms

The Handsome Family

The Last Bandoleros

The Pines

Will Hoge

William Clark Green

Wynonna & The Big Noise

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!