Aussie Head Of Americana


Expat Australian Producer Mark Moffatt is the new President of the Americana Music Association in Nashville, Tennessee.

The AMA has announced its newly appointed Executive Committee and goals for the 2014 calendar year during its recent annual Board of Directors retreat in Nashville, TN.

The Americana Music Association is a professional trade organization whose mission is to advocate for the authentic voice of American Roots Music around the world.

The Board has appointed a new Executive Committee: expat Australian producer Mark Moffatt has been named President, a first for the AMA and a testament to the organization’s global outlook; Ramseur Records artist manager Holly Lowman will remain on the Board as Past-President; Amanda Hale, Media Relations at Vector Management, will serve as President-Elect, and the GRAMMY Museum’s Lynne Sheridan will again serve as Secretary. 
The two At Large Executive Committee members are John Ingrassia of Vector Management and Al Moss of Al Moss Promotion. Kurt Vitolo will continue in his role as Treasurer. His firm KV Financial Group PC will act as the Association’s accounting firm. These positions are held for one-year terms.
The focus of the retreat included an exploration of the Association’s goals for 2014 and beyond and developing ways to continue to capitalise on the growth of the Association and the genre worldwide.
The Board of Directors consists of 19 industry representatives elected by the Americana Music Association membership and/or appointed by the Board. Re-elected or appointed for new terms are John Allen (BMG Chrysalis) and Jonathan Levine (Paradigm Talent Agency). Musicians Rodney Crowell and Buddy Miller return as artist ambassadors. New Board Members starting their terms in 2014 include Carrie Colliton (Dept. of Record Stores/Record Store Day), Scott Goldman (GRAMMY Foundation/MusiCares), Wayne Leeloy (Warner Music Nashville) and Cliff O’Sullivan (Sugar Hill Records).
The incoming directors and Executive Committee join returning Board Members Shauna de Cartier (Six Shooter Records), Tim Fink (SESAC), Mary Gauthier (artist) and Jessie Scott (Music Fog/Hill Country). Ashley Capps (AC Entertainment) and Terry Lickona (Austin City Limits) will continue to serve as Ex Officio officers of the Association.


Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!