Americana Awards 2015 – Lucinda Williams Wins


2015 winners:

Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone by Lucinda Williams won the coveted Album of The Year at the Americana Music Awards & Honors last night in Nashville, TN. Williams and her husband/co-producer Tom Overby accepted the award, having already played ‘East Side of Town,’ from the acclaimed double album. The title of the album came froma  poem by Williams’ father, poet Miller Williams, who passed away on January 1 this year.

The Album of The Year award capped a star-studded night in which young Americana stars such as Sturgill Simpson (Artist of the Year and Song of The Year) and Shakey Graves (Emerging Artist of The Year) shared honours with veterans such as The Mavericks (Group of The Year) and John Leventhal (Instrumentalist). Simpson was not present to accept his awards due to touring commitments.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards also recognised other veterans: Los Lobos (Performance), Don Henley (Trailblazer), Ricky Scaggs (Instrumentalist), Buffy St Marie and Gillian Welch and David Rawlings (Songwriting). The President’s Award went to the late BB King who was industed by Keb Mo’ who also sang King’s ‘Been Downhearted’ with King’s guitar Lucille placed on the stage.

The evening, which ran for what must be a record three and a half hours, featured other performances from The Fairfield Four & The McCrary Sisters with Robert Randolph (‘Rock My Soul’), Leanne Womack, Don Henley (I’m Praying For Rain’), Shakey Graves & Esme Patterson,  Buffy St Marie (‘Universal Soldier’), John Hiatt (‘Long Time Coming’ with Ry Cooder on guitar), Doug Seegers (‘Angie’s Song’), Nikki Lane (‘The Right Time’), Rhiannon Giddens, The Lone Bellow, The Mavericks, Ricky Scaggs (with Ry Cooder on banjo and Sharon White for ‘Gloryland’),  Buddy Miller and Marc Ribot (Hank Williams’ ‘Cold, Cold Heart’), Jason Isbell (‘Something More Than Free’), Los Lobos (‘How Will the Wolf Survive’) and host Jim Lauderdale. The evening closed with an ensemble rendition of Los Lobos’ ‘One Time One Night.’

The awards will be broadcast on PBS in the USA later this year and also on CMT in Australia.

Album of the Year (Award goes to artist and producer)

Down Where the Spirit Meets the Bone, Lucinda Williams; Produced by Lucinda Williams, Tom Overby and Greg Leisz

Artist of the Year

Sturgill Simpson

Emerging Artist of the Year

Shakey Graves

Duo/Group of the Year

The Mavericks

Song of the Year (Award goes to Artist and Songwriter)

‘Turtles All the Way Down’ – Sturgill Simpson; Written by Sturgill Simpson

Instrumentalist of the Year

John Leventhal

President’s Award: BB King

Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer:  Don Henley

Lifetime Achievement Award, Instrumentalist: Ricky Skaggs

Lifetime Achievement Award, Songwriting: Gillian Welch & David Rawlings

Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance: Los Lobos.

Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music Association and the First Amendment Center: Buffy Sainte-Marie

Brian Wise

Brian Wise was the Editor of Addicted To Noise‘s Australian site from 1997 – 2002. The site won two ONYA Awards as Best Online Music Magazine in 1999 & 2000. He has also been Editor since its reincarnation in 2013. He also presents the weekly music interview program Off The Record on 102.7 Triple R-FM ( in Melbourne. It is networked to 45+ stations across Australia on the Community Radio Network and is a four-time winner of the Best Music Program Award from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. In 2012, it was nominated as a finalist in the Excellence in Music Programming category. Brian was also the Founding Editor & Publisher of Rhythms Magazine and is now its Senior Contributing Editor.

Subscribe to our mailing list!